2016 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception
Honoring Bryan N. Tramont
June 2, 2016 • The Mayflower Hotel  • 6:30 - 8:30 p.m.

The Milestone Award recognizes attorneys for exemplary service to the Columbus School of Law and outstanding achievement in the field of communications law and policy. The award was first given in 1996 to the late Honorable James H. Quello, former Chairman of the FCC, in 2001 to the Honorable Kathleen Q. Abernathy (Class of 1983), former FCC Commissioner, and most recently in 2012 to the Honorable Richard E. Wiley, former FCC Chairman. 

The 2016 Milestone Award will be presented to Bryan N. Tramont, Managing Partner of Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP and CUA Law Adjunct Professor, on June 2, 2016 at The Mayflower Hotel.  Mr. Tramont is being honored for his longstanding and wide-ranging support of the Columbus School of Law and the Law and Technology Institute (formerly the Institute for Communications Law Studies) (“Institute”) as well as the study of communications law. Mr. Tramont is a recognized leader in the communications bar and currently serves as an adjunct professor at the Institute, where he has taught for over 15 years and helped to shape its curriculum. He is invaluable to the Institute as a supporter of its programming, including annual symposiums, moot court competitions, and scholarly publications, and as a mentor to its students and alumni.  Mr. Tramont frequently spends his personal time advising students and alumni on cutting-edge issues and assisting them in securing highly-competitive internships and jobs, all while encouraging them to "pay it forward" to fellow students, alumni, and members of the communications bar. 

Proceeds of the Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception will benefit the Harvey L. Zuckman Scholarship Fund, which honors the legacy of the Institute founder and provides financial aid to law students who have committed to studying communications law.

Registration, Sponsorship, and Support

To purchase tickets to attend or to be a sponsor of the 2016 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception, please click .

If you are unable to attend the 2016 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception, but would like to support the Harvey L. Zuckman Scholarship Fund, please click .

 Pay It Forward Challenge

In keeping with his long-standing practice of encourging others to "pay it forward," Bryan Tramont, honoree of the 2016 Milestone Award, has generously offered to make a challenge gift to encourage additional donations to the Professor Harvey L. Zuckman Scholarship Fund and to encourage attendance to the 2016 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception.

Bryan will make a gift of $10,000 to the Zuckman Scholarship Fund if over 50 individuals give $250 or more to the Zuckman Scholarship Fund or register for the Milestone Reception at the Pay It Forward Challenge Level or a higher level. Bryan's challenge has been joined by two other challengers, including Justin Faulb '08, for a total matching opportunity of $13,000!
Click  and select the Pay It Forward Challenge (or one of the higher levels)to accept the challenge today and increase the impact of your gift by helping unlock an additional $13,000.  

Contact Information

If you have any questions about the Milestone Award or sponsorship opportunities, please contact Chair, S. Jenell Trigg, Esq. ’97 at strigg@lermansenter.com, Co-Chair, Kathleen Kirby, Esq. ’91 at kkirby@wileyrein.com, or the Law School's Office of Development & Alumni Relations at (202) 319-5670 or cualawalumni@law.edu.   

The Columbus School of Law, the Communications Law Institute Alumni Association, and the Law and Technology Institute thank the following generous supporters and hosts of the 2016 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception:

 2016 Milestone Award Sponsors (as of 5/23/16)

Dean’s Level ($10,000)

  • AT&T, Inc.
  • Comcast Corporation
  • CTIA 
  • Rebecca Murphy Thompson, Class of 2000 and Competitive Carriers Association 
  • Bryan N. Tramont (PIF Challenge)
  • Verizon Communications, Inc.
  • Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP

Director’s Level ($5,000)

  • CenturyLink, Inc.
  • Cox Enterprises
  • Dish Network LLC
  • Frontier Communications
  • Harris, Wiltshire & Grannis LLP
  • Dale and Patricia Hatfield
  • Julie Kearney, Class of 1998 and Eugene Leung
  • LocusPoint Networks
  • Mobile Future
  • National Cable & Telecommunications Association
  • Megan Anne Stull, Class of 2003
  • T-Mobile US, Inc.
  • US Telecom Association
  • Kathryn A. Zachem

Professor's Level ($2,500)

  • Cheryl A. Tritt and Philip M. Walker


Supporter’s Level ($1,000)

  • Douglas Bonner, Class of 1983
  • Michele C. Farquhar, Ari Q. Fitzgerald, and Tom Sugrue
  • Justin Faulb, Class of 2008 (PIF Challenge)
  • Glen Echo Group
  • Donna C. Gregg
  • Jennifer McCarthy, Class of 1994
  • NTCA - The Rural Broadband Association
  • OTA Broadcasting
  • Preston Padden
  • Michael Saperstein, Class of 2007 and Ann Saperstein
  • Kenneth Satten
  • David Solomon
  • S. Jenell Trigg '97 and Lerman Senter PLLC
  • The Wireless Infrastructure Association
  • Gerard J. Waldron
  • Professor Emeritus Harvey L. Zuckman

Friend’s Level ($500 - $999)

  • James Barker
  • Christopher Bjornson, Class of 2000
  • Matthew A. Brill
  • Jonathan Campbell, Class of 2009 and Meg Campbell
  • Jonathan Cohen
  • Nora Crosby
  • Bert Ellis
  • Susan Fox
  • Wesley Gee, Class of 2012
  • Patrick Halley, Class of 2010
  • Angela Kronenberg, Class of 1995
  • Latina Broadcasting
  • Elizabeth McCarthy, Class of 1994
  • Glenis McKoy
  • Rini O'Neil, PC
  • Natalie Roisman
  • Davina Sashkin, Class of 2007
  • Paul Sinderbrand
  • Sherrese Smith 



2016 Milestone Award Host Committee

  • Hon. Kathleen Q. Abernathy, Class of 1983
  • Hon. Jonathan S. Adelstein
  • Jennifer P. Bagg, Class of 2004
  • Hon. Meredith Attwell Baker
  • Rachael Bender, Class of 2010
  • Jeffrey Blum
  • James W. Cicconi 
  • William deKay
  • Kathleen M. Grillo
  • Kathleen O’Brien Ham, Class of 1987
  • Rosemary C. Harold
  • Scott Blake Harris
  • Julie Kearney, Class of 1998
  • Walter B. McCormick, Jr. 
  • Rebecca Murphy Thompson, Class of 2000
  • Melissa Newman
  • Barry Ohlson
  • Preston Padden
  • Ravi Potharlanka
  • Hon. Michael Powell 
  • Allison Remsen
  • Peter D. Shields
  • Megan Anne Stull, Class of 2003
  • Cheryl A. Tritt
  • Kathryn A. Zachem

A Selection of photos from the 2012 Milestone Award Ceremony and Reception Honoring Richard E. Wiley


3600 John McCormack Road, NE, Suite 339
Washington, DC 20064

© 2010 The Catholic University of America - Columbus School of Law - All Rights Reserved